Professional Woman of the Year Past Award Recipients


Please join us in congratulating each recipient of the Professional Woman of the Year award.

Past award recipients include:


2019 Lynn Giuliani, President and Founder of Progressions – PWOTY Award

2019 Abby Franklin, Owner of Loving Space Preschool – Legacy Award

2018 Ariana Lee Newman, Co-Owner Bija Chocolates/Ku’l Chocolate

2017 Moonwater, Executive Director of Whatcom Dispute Resolution Center

2016 Maluhia Vander Griend, Artistic Director, Dancing for Joy

2015 Emily O’Connor, Executive Director, Lydia Place

2014 Carolyn Saletto, Owner, Gym Star Sports Center

2013 Karen Barlean, CFO, Barlean’s, Organic Oils LLC

2012 Wendy DeFreest, Owner, Avenue Bread & Deli

2011 Gwyn Howat, Operations Manager, Mt. Baker Ski Area, Inc.

2010 Nancy Ivarinen, Northwest Justice Project.

2009 Debbie Gann, Director/Owner, Home Attendant Care

2008 Lynne Henifin, Henifin Const/NW Safety Signs/Complete Trade Services

2007 Alta McClellan, Hardware Sales (passed away 2010)

2006 Maureen Enegren, Executive Director of Mt. Baker Chapter of American Red Cross

2005 Kathy Cross, Laser Point Awards & Promotional

2003-2004 – No PWOTY Banquet

2002 Erin Baker, Bakers Breakfast Cookies

2001 Phyllis McKee, Sterling Real Estate Group

2000 Kay Moquin, il Fiasco

1999 Pat Rose, Rose Construction

1998 Judy McCoy, Camtec Precision, Inc.

1997 Debra Jones, Brown & Cole Stores

1996 Betty Vargas, Signs Plus / Tint Plus

1995 Anna Williams, Hawleys

1994 Betty Young, WWU

1993 Karen Hulford, Georgia Pacific Corp.

1992 Anita Jackson, Early Childhood Opportunities N.W.

1991 Vi Zurline, Bellingham Travel

1990 Karen Frederick, Limber Lady Body Wear

1989 Priscilla Sabin, Convention & Visitor’s Bureau

1988 Ann Gossage, Towne & Country

1987 Molly Malone, Molly Malone’s Service

1986 Dee Robinson, Village Books

1985 Kathy Wesley, AM/PM Mini Mart

1984 Orphalee Smith, CPA

1983 Eunice Cole, Star Surgical Supply

1982 Jody Bergsma, Bergsma Gallery

1981 Jeanne Smith, The Cellar